Vodka, Vodka, and Cupcakes

When moving to a new city, you learn to do as the locals do. You eat where the locals eat, shop where they shop, go to the local entertainment, and enjoy the vacation spots of the surrounding area.

If you live in Baltimore, you vacation in Ocean City, Maryland. You just do.

So as a still new Baltimorean, I visited Ocean City this past weekend for the first time. Now let me tell you, it was an experience! As a native Florida girl, I have seen my fair share of beautiful beaches. If y’all haven’t been to the hidden treasure of Anna Maria Island, you need to go. Don’t think it’s worth it? Trip Advisor ranked it 3rd among U.S. Islands to visit!! (Sorry I have to brag . . . but I am just sayin’ is all!)

Anyway, Ocean City is a very nice beach. The sand was lovely and the weather was awesome. I don’t think we could have asked for a better weekend. It was seven guys and I, and let me tell you, that made it even more of an adventure.

For one, the guys were not concerned about eating, especially not eating healthy. There was a 7-11 across the street, so that provided three meals a day. Convenient right? Not for this girl! But I made do. There was a lot of chips and salsa that was being eaten, and whatever fresh fruit I could find!

Not only did the boys decide we were on the cheapest diet ever (which I am seriously in favor for, but 7-11 taquitos is where I draw my limit), they were also mainly all single guys in their 20’s. What’s their main priority? Females in the their 20’s!

So I enjoyed watching the majority of them talking to girls, or getting denied by girls. It made for an interesting and entertaining weekend. So my first Baltimorean vacation was very successful. It was filled with sun, sand, and vodka.

Because 4th of July is this weekend, I am sure most of you have a similar weekend planned. For that reason, I have been thinking (and craving) my favorite cupcakes: vodka cupcakes. For all you alchies out there, they aren’t like jello shots, but they are absolutely delicious so that I thought I would at least share!

 Vodka Cupcakes

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

4 eggs

1/2 cup cake vodka

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

3-1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin tin with baking cups.

2. In a large bowl, combine butter and eggs. (It will look clumpy and runny.) Stir in vodka and vanilla extract.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, mixing until just combined.

4. Fill baking cups 2/3 of the way full. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

Option: Brush the tops of the cupcakes with more vodka!

Whipped Cream Vodka Buttercream

           1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

           
3 cups powdered sugar
2 tbsp whipped cream vodka

1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add vodka, one tablespoon at a time. (Add more or less depending on your desired consistency.)

Recipe from The Baking Robot

Seriously these are some of the best cupcakes ever!

photo-26

They are a must for any celebration! Just add some food coloring, and they are PERFECT for the 4th!

Happy July 4th Eve, and Happy Thursday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

